Return to Website

Emily's Living In New Orleans Forum

Live in New Orleans? Not yet but you would like to? Well drop on in and ask any and all your questions you might have about moving here. If you live here already, feel free to ask questions, post comments, or start a discussion. Look forward to hearing from you! Em

Emily's Living In New Orleans Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Considering move to N.O.

Hi Emily,

First, thanks for the excellent web site. The information has been invaluable. I am considering a job offer in the Gentilly area and want to learn more about the area before I make a decision. I am a Finance professional currently living in Chicago and totally unfamiliar with New Orleans. I am looking for an apartment or townhouse. It appears that the rents are considerably lower than in Chicago.

The ideal neighborhood would be relatively close to work and quiet. However, I would also like to have quick access to entertainment and restaurants in the city. Also, is flooding a problem and what areas should I avoid in that regard?

I would appreciate any recommendations you can make considering my criteria.

Thank you,

James

Re: Considering move to N.O.

Hi James!

Thanks for posting - and sorry it has taken me so long to respond.